First Secretary’s Awards for Excellence announced

Secretary Clough has announced the first recipients of the Secretary’s Awards for Excellence. These awards honor three individuals for their special achievements in collaboration, innovation and excellence. Nominated by their colleagues, the recipients lead by example and are willing to strike out in new directions to help the Smithsonian become a greater institution.


Vicki Funk in Tibet (Photo by Debbie Bell)

Vicki Funk in Tibet (Photo by Debbie Bell)

Collaborative Spirit Award
Vicki Funk was chosen to receive the award for her work as the co-chair of the Strategic Planning Steering Committee. Vicki has been a research scientist at the Museum of Natural History since 1981, and currently holds the positions of Senior Research Scientist and Director of the Biological Diversity of the Guiana Shield Program (Northeastern South America).

Innovative Spirit Award
Georgina Goodlander received this award for managing the creation of “Ghosts of a Chance,” the first Alternate Reality Game to be implemented

Georgina Goodlander

Georgina Goodlander

by a museum. Georgina is the Interpretive Programs Manager of the Luce Foundation Center for the American Art Museum.

Spirit of the Smithsonian Award
Huyen Tran received this award for her dedication in helping others throughout the Institution achieve their goals. Huyen works in the Office of the Chief Information Officer as a Senior Computer Scientist, focusing on the ERP Financials system.

More than 70 nominations were received for the Secretary’s Awards for Excellence. There are many inspiring individuals at the Smithsonian and these awards will become an annual tradition.

Posted: 29 October 2009
About the Author:

The Torch relies on contributions from the entire Smithsonian community.