Secretary’s Awards for Excellence announced

The recipients of the fourth annual Secretary’s Awards for Excellence have been announced. These individuals are being honored for their special achievements in collaboration, innovation and spirit. They lead by example and they create new ways of working together that help the Smithsonian become a better institution.

Light-emitting diodes (LED)

Scott Rosenfeld, exhibition lighting designer at the Smithsonian American Art Museum, received the Innovative Spirit Award for his work on the Gateway Project, research originally undertaken by the U.S. Department of Energy to study the damage caused by LED lamps to museum collections. Scott’s innovative thinking and dedicated research expanded the Gateway report. He also created a guide to LED lighting products so designers can make informed decisions about lighting objects in the collections. His pioneering work is helping to create a sustainable museum environment.

Raineldo Urriola, scientific coordinator at the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute, received the Spirit of the Smithsonian Award for successfully coordinating scientific logistics for hundreds of visiting and staff scientists with a high level of tact and professionalism. Raineldo is the consummate professional who has assisted in the research of his colleagues and whose work ethic, selfless dedication and gracious nature has facilitated hundreds of publications.

Camy Clough, public programs specialist at the National Museum of American History, received the Collaborative Spirit Award for demonstrating the spirit and power of public–­­private partnerships by leading the team that organized the Girl Scouts Rock the Mall 100th Anniversary, which attracted 250,000 visitors. Camy is a visionary leader and collaborator who achieved these results with boundless resourcefulness, and she inspired the learning in everyone by showcasing Smithsonian expertise, collections and programs for the public.

Gen. Jack Dailey and the Welcome Discovery Team also received the Collaborative Spirit Award for successfully creating a multiday public awareness campaign, festival and ceremony for the arrival of the Space Shuttle Discovery. Jack and the Welcome Discovery Team brought perspectives, expertise and enthusiasm that resulted in a remarkable occasion and engaged nearly 5 billion people worldwide in learning about the historic and scientific achievements of the shuttle, the space program, the National Air and Space Museum and the Smithsonian. The Smithsonian community is invited to join Secretary Clough at the awards ceremony honoring Scott, Raineldo, Camy, Jack and the Welcome Discovery Team on Wednesday, October 24, at 10:30 a.m. in the Smithsonian Castle Commons. A reception will immediately follow in Schermer Hall. Seating is limited and on a first-come, first-served basis. The event will be webcast at http://prism.si.edu/os/live.htm.

The space shuttle Discovery on its final touchdown. (Photo courtesy of NASA)

Posted: 18 October 2012
About the Author:

The Torch relies on contributions from the entire Smithsonian community.