2019 Smithsonian Education Award winners announced

Graphic showing education-related icons

The recipients of the 2019 Smithsonian Education Awards for Achievement and Innovation were announced by Secretary Bunch Dec. 17. These awards recognize creativity and excellence in educational programming, exhibitions, publications, and digital media. This year’s recipients are:

Nicole Webster, Manager of School and Youth Programs at the National Museum of Natural History, receives the Achievement Award for her commitment to creating equitable, accessible, and inclusive opportunities for diverse youth audiences to engage with science. A tireless leader and collaborator, her creative and innovative work on programs including the Q?Crew Teen Volunteers and “Reefs Unleashed” have profound impact in developing a new generation of confident, scientifically literate citizens.

The Citizen Science Program at the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center receives the Innovation Award for its work inviting and empowering people of all ages to contribute to real scientific research using the highest professional standards and techniques. Projects include environmental archaeology, water quality issues, and an orchid conservation project that supports learning standards for middle- and high-school students. The program has been crucial to helping the Center address the environmental challenges of the 21st century.

Many thanks to all who participated in the nomination process and to the distinguished judges, an external committee of museum and education leaders. Special thanks are due to the Smithsonian Women’s Committee, which endowed the awards in honor of their 40th anniversary of service to the Smithsonian.

Please join Secretary Bunch at a reception honoring the recipients and celebrating Smithsonian education Wednesday, March 11, at 2 p.m. An invitation with the event location will be sent as the event date approaches.

Posted: 6 January 2020
About the Author:

The Torch relies on contributions from the entire Smithsonian community.